Homemade Larabars

Hey peeps, so I purchased a food processor recently and needed to make something in it – obviously! I have always been so jealous at how easily food processors chop nuts and combine ingredients together into a fine paste – you cannot accomplish this with a blender, trust me I’ve tried and failed more than I care to admit.  So now that I am equipped with the right tool I decided to try and make homemade Larabars. If you are not familiar with Larabar feel free to read more about her story here, but her idea was to create nutritious bars with no preservatives, no added sugar, and whole ingredients. I completely agree with her vision however being a student does not help with the price of the bar so, I decided to buy the ingredients in bulk and make my own for a fraction of the price. I also added a few more ingredients because I had them around the house and I also wanted to help with my plumbing, if you know what I mean.

IMG_2657.JPGIMG_2660.JPG

Instructions:

  1. Rip off a large piece of parchment paper and place it into a 9-by-5-inch loaf pan
  2. Combine the goji berries, dates, prunes and warm water in a small bowl. Let stand for 5 to 10 minutes, until the fruit is soft. Drain the fruit and pat it dry with paper towels. (If the dried fruit you’re using is already super soft and moist, you can skip the soaking step.)
  3. Meanwhile, place the almonds and cashews in a food processor and process until finely chopped
  4. Add the drained fruit, vanilla and, coffee to the food processor and pulse until the fruit is finely chopped and the mixture begins to stick together and clump against the sides of the bow. This could take up to 2 minutes.
  5. Transfer the mixture to the prepared pan. Use a speculum to spread and flatten the mixture evenly in the pan. Leave the paper or plastic wrap in place. Refrigerate for 30 minutes.
  6. Using the paper or plastic lining the pan, lift the bar mixture from the pan and transfer it to a cutting board. Cut the mixture into rectangles. Tightly wrap each bar in plastic wrap. The bars will keep at room temperature for up to 3 days, in the refrigerator for up to 3 weeks, or in the freezer for up to 3 months

 

Recipe:

½ cups pitted dates

½ cup prunes

¼ cup goji berries

2 cup warm water

1 cup raw almonds

1 cup raw cashews

¼ cup flax seeds

2 tablespoon roasted coffee beans

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Ingredient Shopping List

Check out my video on Instagram and follow my page to get the latest on what I am cooking!

Feel free to pin my Pinterest post to your board and share with friends.

I always love to see my followers’ success stories, creations, and modifications so please comment!

 

Leave a Reply

