Vegan Slow Cooker Curry

IMG_2645

I hope everyone had a great Canada Day long weekend – I know I did! I want to ensure my blog is inclusive and offers value for all of my followers. So I decided to make this delicious vegan slow cooker curry. It is so easy to make and then you can eat it all week long for lunch or dinner and it is so filling!

I like to make this on Sunday nights – and then freeze half and eat one half for my lunch week. This recipe is going to be used to help me keep on track with my two-week vegan challenge. I recently watched What the Health (ON NETFLIX) and it has inspired me to try a vegan lifestyle – if only for a short while. All of the vegan in the documentary talk about how great they feel, how much clarity they have, and how much energy they feel – so I decided I would give it a try!

Recipe:

  • 4 cups red split lentils
  • 1 can chickpeas
  • 2 onions, diced (I used red you can use white instead)
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced (or squish them in a press)
  • 1 tablespoon minced ginger
  • 5 tablespoons red curry paste
  • 1 tablespoon garam masala
  • 1 ½ teaspoon turmeric
  • 2 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 ½ teaspoons cayenne pepper (add more or less depending on your spice tolerance)
  • 2 cans diced tomatoes (I used diced but you can try puree as well)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut milk
  • Cilantro (optional)
  • Brown rice for serving

Instructions:

  1. Rinse the lentils and place them in a large crockpot. Drain and rinse the chickpeas. Add the diced onions, garlic, ginger, chickpeas, curry paste, garam masala, turmeric, sugar, and cayenne. Stir to combine.
  2. Pour 2 cans of diced tomato over the lentils. Re-fill the cans with water twice and add to the crockpot. Stir to make sure that the lentils are covered with liquid. Cover and cook on high for 4-5 hours or low for 7-8 hours.
  3. Check once or twice during cooking to add more water and stir – if the lentils are soaking up all the liquid. The amount of water you add depends on how soupy you want the curry to be.
  4. Stir in the coconut milk and sprinkle with cilantro just before serving. Serve with rice or naan bread.

Instructional Video Link

Ingredient Shopping Links:

This recipe is nutrient packed and filling! It is awesome to kick start my two-week vegan journey!

Feel free to contact me with any additional ingredients you found made this recipe taste better or different proportions! I am always looking to improve my recipes 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

